Weaving – Grade 2

Standard

In connection to their studies of Kenya, second graders learn how to weave on cardboard looms.  This is something that is started in the art room, but then completed in the classroom.  I don’t have time in my curriculum to fit weaving in second grade, so I am so thankful that the classroom teachers are happy to take this on.  I’ve noticed in the last few years, since we started this collaboration, it’s made weaving in third and fourth grade much more manageable!  I had to be out on the first day of weaving for one of my third grade classes when I was just in San Diego for the National Art Education Association Convention, and boy was I pleasantly surprised that everyone was able to follow along with the video I made to get their loom warped and start weaving. Below are some photos of 2nd graders learning to weave in the art room.  Be sure to check out the displays by their classrooms to see their finished weavings.

2014-04-08_0001 2014-04-08_0002

Leave a Reply

