Still Life Oil Pastel Drawings – Grade 4

Standard

Fourth grade students have blown me away with their observation drawing skills this year. I am so impressed. I have taught a still life lesson with fourth grade every year for the last ten years. This year, I was inspired to mix it up a bit, and did a google search for elementary art still life ideas (I think!). I ended up finding a number of blog posts about using baby oil and q-tips to blend oil pastels. This inspired me to shelve my mixed media still life lesson, and proceed with this new technique. ย Boy, am I happy I did that, and I think the fourth graders are as well! ย Besides learning this new technique, students in art also learned about how to show space or depth in their work. ย They learned about overlapping, placement on page, and relative size. Students are sharing their work via our online gallery at Artsonia. ย Be sure to check out the work below, and the work on Artsonia!ย 

2 thoughts on “Still Life Oil Pastel Drawings – Grade 4

Leave a Reply

