Welcome back Conant School Art Students!

Standard
Welcome back Conant School art students.  I can’t believe that the Summer is almost over, and we’ve already had two weeks of school!  It’s good to be back, but I enjoyed the summer.  Here is a peek into what I did.  I can’t wait to have time to catch up with all of you, and learn a bit about what you did during the summer!  
 

 
 

I taught a lot of summer classes via Community Education in Acton.  This photo was the result of the Painting from Observation class.  I just love how the paint drained and made it’s own work of art!

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I also had some celebrations over the summer.  My younger cousin Alec graduated from high school in Hudson NH, and my aunt jokingly celebrated my graduation from graduate school, though a few years late. She didn’t want me to feel left out.

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
We also celebrated my nephew Beck’s 1st birthday!  He truly enjoyed the cake he had all to himself, and he looked so dapper in his bow-tie and suspenders! 


I enjoyed my hometown at the Lowell Folk Festival, where I enjoyed delicious food, heard amazing music, and got to hangout with some great friends.  I also visited Boston for the 4th of July, and despite some obstructed views due to tall buildings, still saw a pretty amazing fireworks display.

Vermont
Maine




I visited Maine, Vermont, and Cape Cod, where I really enjoyed exploring the outdoors.  I also enjoyed having my picture taken with large things, like the large boot outside L.L. Bean in Freeport, VT!

Cape Cod – Provincetown, MA

One of the things that I enjoyed the most, though, was a class I took at the deCordova Sculpture Park and Museum, as well as a visit there with my dad, nephew, and niece.  

If you haven’t been, you certainly should plan to visit soon!  They have some really amazing pieces right now, especially the piece Lincoln by Dewitt Godfrey, which my niece Prudence is standing at the top of, in the photo to the left.









Also, check out the video below of Prudence playing the sculpture The Musical Fence by Paul Matisse.  Definitely one of the pieces you don’t want to skip during a visit to the deCordova

 

Leave a Reply

